Seminaries and colleges


Saint Meinrad School of Theology

Saint Meinrad School of Theology educates students from many dioceses throughout the United States.

The School offers four years of graduate-level theological studies for men preparing for priesthood, two two-year graduate-level theological degrees for lay ministry students, a variety of continuing education workshops and retreats, and sabbatical opportunities of varying length and content. Academic courses and workshops also are available in the Indianapolis area, through the Office for Indianapolis Programs on the Marian College campus.

The school is owned and operated by Saint Meinrad Archabbey, a community of Benedictine monks.

  • Saint Meinrad School of Theology
  • St. Meinrad, IN 47577
  • 812-357-6611

Bishop Simon Bruté College Seminary

The Bishop Simon Bruté College Seminary is the primary place of formation for archdiocesan collegiate seminarians.


Two Catholic colleges are located within the archdiocese, a coeducational institution under the jurisdiction of the Sisters of St. Francis (Oldenburg);and a college for women operated by the Sisters of Providence.

Marian University (Coeducational)

  • Sisters of St. Francis (Oldenburg)
  • 3200 Cold Spring Road, Indianapolis, IN 46222
  • 317-955-6000

St. Mary-of-the-Woods College (Women)

  • Sisters of Providence
  • St. Mary-of-the-Woods, IN 47876
  • 812-535-5151
  • Total students: 1,258


Have a correction for one of these listings? E-mail

Local site Links: