January 14, 2011

Catholics make up nearly 25 percent of Indiana’s state lawmakers in 2011

Of the 150 lawmakers who are currently serving in the Indiana General Assembly, 36 of the legislators are Catholic.

Ten are state senators, including:

  • Sen. Richard Young, D-Miltown
  • Sen. Frank Mrvan, D-Hammond
  • Sen. Sue Landske, R-Cedar Lake
  • Sen. John Broden, D-South Bend
  • Sen. Joseph Zakas, R-Granger
  • Sen. Thomas Wyss, R-Fort Wayne
  • Sen. Ed Charbonneau, D-Valparaiso
  • Sen. Timothy Skinner, D-Terre Haute
  • Sen. Jean Leising, R-Oldenburg
  • Sen. Jim Tomes, R-Wadesville

Twenty-six are members of the Indiana House of Representatives. They include:

  • Rep. Patrick Bauer, D-South Bend
  • Rep. David Niezgodski, D-South Bend
  • Rep. Ryan Dvorak, D-South Bend
  • Rep. Scott Pelath, D-Michigan City
  • Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon, D-Munster
  • Rep. Chester Dobis, D-Merrillville
  • Rep. Donald Lehe, R-Brookston
  • Rep. Thomas Dermody, R-LaPorte
  • Rep. Jeb Bardon, D-Indianapolis
  • Rep. Sheila Klinker, D-Lafayette
  • Rep. Timothy Neese, R-Elkhart
  • Rep. Mark Messmer, R-Jasper;
  • Rep. Ed DeLaney, D-Indianapolis
  • Rep. Matthew Ubelhor, R-Bristow
  • Rep. Philip Pflum, D-Milton
  • Rep. Suzanne Crouch, R-Evansville
  • Rep. Nancy Dembowski, D-Knox
  • Rep. Phil GiaQuinta, D-Fort Wayne
  • Rep. Ed Clere, R-New Albany
  • Rep. Rebecca Kubacki, R-Syracuse
  • Rep. Phil Hinkle, R-Indianapolis
  • Rep. John Day, D-Indianapolis
  • Rep. Sue Ellspermann, R-Ferdinand
  • Rep. Cindy Kirchhofer, R-Beech Grove
  • Rep. Bob Morris, R-Fort Wayne
  • Rep. Ron Bacon, R-Chandler

(Related story: New Catholic lawmakers ready to tackle state’s challenges)

Local site Links: