March 23, 2007

Teachers honored for outstanding work in education

Criterion staff report

In a tribute to the “unsung heroes” of Catholic schools, 40 teachers from throughout the archdiocese recently received St. Theodora Guérin Excellence in Education Awards.

Another 122 teachers received recognition for their special anniversaries of service to Catholic schools in the archdiocese, ranging from 15 years to 54 years of service.

“One of the many things that make a Catholic school unique and distinctively Catholic is that it is so much more than just an institution,” said Annette “Mickey” Lentz, executive director of Catholic education and faith formation for the archdiocese. “Our schools are an extension of the home. A Catholic school is a genuine community of faith.

“The parents of the children that you teach have entrusted you to fill in for them when those children are in your care. And I know from the many parents I talk to over the course of the year that they have great respect for the difficult job you have to do.”

Lentz shared those comments during the 2007 Tribute to Teachers on March 5 at Primo Banquet Hall South in Indianapolis.

“Each year, the expectations for teachers and students increase and each year you rise to the challenge and you help our students meet these growing expectations,” Lentz continued. “And the result of all of your hard work is easily verified. All one has to do is look at our ISTEP scores, the percentage of students we graduate and the number of Blue Ribbon schools we have each year. You have played a key role in creating one of the best school systems in the United States.”

The Excellence in Education Awards celebrate the spirit of St. Theodora Guérin, who came to Indiana in 1840 and founded the Sisters of Providence at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods.

Besides following the example of St. Theodora, Lentz said, Catholic school teachers fulfill the words of Archbishop Daniel M. Buechlein “to make the face of Jesus visible to those around us.”

“What great role models you are for our children in how to live a Christ-centered life,” Lentz told the teachers. “You are doing so much more than passing on the book knowledge they need to be successful in life. Each day, you are making the face of Jesus visible to your students. Children who learn to see God in all things will also learn to make the face of Christ visible to those around them.” †

2007 St. Theodora Guérin Excellence in Education Award recipients

  • Beth Brogan
    • St. Matthew School, Indianapolis
  • Linda Buckley
    • St. Mark School, Indianapolis
  • Josephine Cavanaugh
    • Cathedral High School, Indianapolis
  • Teri Collins
    • St. Barnabas School, Indianapolis
  • Chris Corrado
    • St. Monica School, Indianapolis
  • Linda Curran
    • St. Lawrence School, Indianapolis
  • Karen Dabney
    • St. Roch School, Indianapolis
  • Missy Ellis
    • Bishop Chatard High School, Indianapolis
  • Mary Endris
    • St. Joseph School, Shelbyville
  • Suzan Fields
    • St. Gabriel School, Indianapolis
  • Linda Gastineau
    • Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Indianapolis
  • Kathy Gogola
    • Christ the King School, Indianapolis
  • Erika Hall
    • St. Christopher School, Indianapolis
  • Rose Haltom
    • Nativity School, Indianapolis
  • Lisa Hannon
    • St. Malachy School, Brownsburg
  • Stephanie Hasecuster
    • St. Mary School, Rushville
  • Karen Hosek
    • St. Susanna School, Plainfield
  • Sandy Hoy
    • St. Thomas Aquinas School, Indianapolis
  • Kerry Jones
    • Our Lady of Providence Jr./Sr. High School, Clarksville
  • Christine Kelly
    • St. Luke School, Indianapolis
  • Stacey Kern
    • St. Vincent de Paul School, Bedford
  • Jeanne Landrum
    • St. Mary-of-the-Knobs School, Floyd Knobs
  • Jean Laskowski
    • Pope John XXIII School, Madison
  • Susan McDowell
    • St. Patrick School, Terre Haute
  • Susan McGregor
    • St. Simon School, Indianapolis
  • Judy Moloy
    • Holy Spirit School, Indianapolis
  • Tiffany Nordman
    • St. Bartholomew School, Columbus
  • Laura Olivera
    • St. Charles Borromeo School, Bloomington
  • Liz Ramos
    • Cardinal Ritter Jr./Sr. High School, Indianapolis
  • Shaune Rebilas
    • St. Anthony School, Clarksville
  • Sue Schneider
    • St. Joan of Arc School, Indianapolis
  • Kristina Schwendenmann
    • St. Mary School, North Vernon
  • Rebecca Spitznagel
    • Central Catholic School, Indianapolis
  • Kathy Stein
    • Our Lady of Perpetual Help School, New Albany
  • Susie Tipton
    • St. Gabriel School, Connersville
  • Kelly VanVleet
    • St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School, Richmond
  • Jeanie Warrick
    • St. Pius X School, Indianapolis
  • Kathy Weber
    • Holy Family School, New Albany
  • Tricia Witkemper
    • St. Mary School, Greensburg
  • Janice York
    • Sacred Heart School, Jeffersonville

Local site Links: